People

Faculty

Adjunct Affiliates Emeritus

Name Title Research Areas

Açıkmeşe, Behçet
(206) 616-3590
behcet@uw.edu

 

Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Academics
Adjunct in Electrical & Computer
Engineering
Control theory, convex optimization, autonomous aerospace vehicles, Markov processes

Bragg, Michael B.
Assistant: Lucia Ersfeld
(206) 543-1829
mbragg@uw.edu

 

Frank & Julie Jungers Dean of Engineering Aerodynamics, Flight Mechanics, Aircraft Icing

Breidenthal, Robert
(206) 685-1098
breidenthal@aa.washington.edu

 

Professor Aerodynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Turbulence

Dabiri, Dana
(206) 543-6067
dabiri@aa.washington.edu

 

Associate Professor
Adjunct in Mechanical Engineering
Aerodynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Turbulence

Ferrante, Antonino
(206) 616-0109
ferrante@aa.washington.edu

 

Associate Professor Fluid Mechanics, Turbulence, Multiphase Flows, Computational Fluid Dynamics
 

Golingo, Ray
(206) 543-7703
golingo@aa.washington.edu

 

Research Assistant Professor Plasma Physics, Fusion Thrusters, Advanced Diagnostics, Compact Fusion Energy

Hermanson, Jim
(206) 616-2310
jherm@aa.washington.edu

 

Professor
Adjunct in Mechanical Engineering
 
Combustion, Gasdynamics, Microgravity Science, Heat Transfer

Jarboe, Thomas R.
(206) 685-3427
jarboe@aa.washington.edu

 

Professor
Adjunct in Physics
Plasma Science , Electric Propulsion, Controlled Fusion

Knowlen, Carl
(206) 543-7159
knowlen@aa.washington.edu

 

Research Associate Professor Energy Conversion, Combustion Physics, Hypervelocity Propulsion

Kurosaka, Mitsuru
(206) 685-2619
kurosaka@aa.washington.edu

 

Professor Airbreathing Propulsion, Turbomachinery, Fluid Dynamics, Acoustics, Heat Transfer
 
Little, Justin
(206) 543-6679
littlej7@uw.edu
 
Assistant Professor  Electric Propulsion, Plasma Physics, Space Systems, Small Satellites, Plasma Diagnostics  
Livne, Eli
(206) 543-6643
eli@aa.washington.edu
Boeing Endowed Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics
Associate Chair for Research and Infrastructure
Director of Aeronautical Laboratories
Adjunct in Mechanical Engineering
Aerospace Structures, Structural Optimization, Structural Dynamics, Aeroelasticity, Aero-servo-thermo-elasticity, Multidisciplinary Design Optimization (MDO), Airplane Design
 
Lum, Christopher
(206) 543-0539
lum@u.washington.edu
Research Assistant Professor Unmanned Aerial Systems, Control Theory, Automation, Flight Operations
 

Mesbahi, Mehran
(206) 543-7937
mesbahi@aa.washington.edu

 

Professor
Adjunct in Mathematics
Automatic Control, Autonomous Vehicles, Optimization, Space Systems
 
Morgansen, Kristi
(206) 616-5950
morgansen@aa.washington.edu
Interim Chair
Professor
Adjunct in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Associate Chair for Academics
Nonlinear Control, Dynamical Systems, Coordinated Control, Bio-inspired Systems, Autonomous Vehicles, Human Cognition in Autonomous System
 

Salviato, Marco
(206) 543-2170
salviato@aa.washington.edu

 

Assistant Professor Composite Aerospace Structures, Nano composites
 

Shumlak, Uri
(206) 616-1986
shumlak@uw.edu

 

Professor Advanced Space Propulsion, Electric Thrusters, Plasma Physics, Computational Fluid Dynamics
 

Williams, Owen
(206) 543-6880
ojhw@aa.washington.edu

 

Research Assistant Professor Fluid Mechanics, Turbulence, Hypersonics, and Stratified Atmosphere
Yang, Jinkyu "JK"
(206) 543-6612
jkyang@aa.washington.edu
Associate Professor
Adjunct in Physics
Mechanics and dynamics of structures, Design of engineered material systems (e.g., composites, metamaterials, and phononic crystals), Nondestructive evaluation and structural health monitoring