Skip to main content

News & Events

Faculty Honors

Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR)

Young Investigator Research Award

Justin Little (2019)

Justin Little will use the YIP award to fund a Ph.D. student in A&A for three years to explore the intersection of data science and plasma physics. Specifically, the group will develop a method to rapidly optimize electric thrusters by taking data from high-speed plasma diagnostics and applying machine learning and data discovery algorithms.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)


Behcet Acikmese
Eli Livne
Mehran Mesbahi
Kristi Morgansen

Associate Fellows

Robert Breidenthal
Dana Dabiri
Antonino Ferrante
Jim Hermanson 
Carl Knowlen 
Uri Shumlak

Holt Ashley Award for Aeroelasticity

Eli LIvne (2021)

Eli Llvne's award is for carrying out foundational works for aeroservoelastic optimization; leadership in maturing active flutter suppression to practice, and for major contributions to the dissemination of aeroelastic knowledge.

American Physical Society


Uri Shumlak

American Society for Composites 

DEStech Young Composites Researcher Award

Marco Salviato (2020)

Marco Salviato is receiving the 2020 DEStech Young Composites Researcher Award from the American Society of Composites for his significant impact on the science and technology of composite materials through a sustained research effort.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers


Jim Hermanson


Young Faculty Award

Justin Little

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)


Behçet Açıkmeşe
Mehran Mesbahi
Uri Shumlak

Controls Systems Society's Award for Technical Excellence

Behçet Açıkmeşe (2019)

Behçet Açıkmeşe won the IEEE Control Systems Society's Award for Technical Excellence in Aerospace Control for outstanding contributions to convex optimization-based control and its transitions and applications to aerospace applications.

International Council for Aeronautical Sciences (ICAS)

Enoch Thulin ICAS Innovation in Aeronautics Award

Eli Livne (2022)

Eli Livne received this award for his seminal contributions to the theory and practice of aeroservoelasticity in the context of aircraft multi-disciplinary design optimization, and for pioneering work towards the maturation of aircraft active flutter suppression technology. 

Washington State Academy of Sciences

Elected Members

Mehran Mesbahi (2023)

Mehran Mesbahi was elected for extraordinary contributions to guidance and control of autonomous and distributed aerospace systems, for leadership in educational innovations, and for advancing aerospace technology transfers leading to industry research collaborations throughout his career.

Kristi Morgansen (2021)

Kristi Morgansen was elected for leadership and significant advances in nonlinear methods for integrated sensing and control in engineered, bioinspired, and biological flight systems, and for leadership in cross-disciplinary aerospace workforce development.