Visiting Committee

The department held its last Visiting Committee meeting in November 2019, with a roster of esteemed members that includes:

Lars Q. Andersen
Vice President, Advanced 777 Product Development
Boeing Commercial Airplanes  (Ret.)

Dana Andrews
Chief Technology Officer
Spaceflight Industries (formerly Andrews Space) (Ret.)

Jason Andrews
Spaceflight Industries 

Emilio Beltran
Principle Software Engineer

Paul Bevilaqua, NAE
Chief Scientist
Lockheed Martin Skunk Works (Ret.)

Suzanna Darcy-Hennemann 
Chief Pilot – Director, Flight Training 
The Boeing Company (Ret.)

Peretz Friedmann
Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Professor 
Department of Aerospace Engineering
The University of Michigan

Reba Gilman
Vice President of Education
The Museum of Flight

Kourosh Hadi
Director of Product Development
Boeing Commercial Airplanes

Andrew Madar
Aerozon Aviation

Laura McGill 
Vice President of Engineering
Raytheon Missile Systems

Nujoud Merancy
Chief, Exploration Mission Planning Office
NASA Johnson Space Center

Rob Meyerson
Founder and CEO
Delalune Space 

Roger Myers
Washington State Joint Center for Aerospace Technology

Jaime Peraire
Department Head
H.N. Slater Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alex Pietsch
Associate Vice President
Office of Corporate Relations
Washington State University

Helen Reed
Director, AggieSat Lab 
Deapartment of Aerospace Engineering
Texas A&M University

Alton Romig, NAE
Executive Officer, NAE
Vice President, Advanced Development
Programs Engineering and Advanced Systems
Lockheed Martin (Ret.)

Khaled W. Shahwan
Sr. Technology Leader – Composites, Methods & Strategies
Global Innovations – Advanced Development Engineering
Fiat Chrysler Automobiles

S. Rao Varanasi 
Chief Engineer, In-Service Structures and Aging Fleet
The Boeing Company (Ret.)


We are grateful for the guidance and expertise of this distinguished group of leaders in academia and industry. The Visiting Committee will meet annually to support the department and shape its future as an international leader in aerospace education.