Anthony Waas

Anthony Waas

Boeing-Egtvedt Chair
Professor of Aerostructures
Office: 211E Guggenheim Hall
Phone: (206) 221-2569

PhD, Aeronautics and Applied Mathematics, California Institute of Technology
BS, Aeronautics, Imperial College, University of London, UK

Anthony M. Waas is Department Chair, Aeronautics and Astronautics at the University of Washington, Seattle, and is also the Boeing-Egtvedt Endowed Chair Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Prior to this, he was the Felix Pawlowski Collegiate Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Director, Composite Structures Laboratory at the University of Michigan from 1988-2014. He received his B.Sc. (first class honors) from Imperial College, Univ. of London, U.K., in 1982, the M.S. in 1983 and Ph.D in 1988 with a minor in Applied Mathematics from the California Institute of Technology, all in Aeronautics.

Dr. Waas joined the faculty of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan in 1988, where he rose through the ranks, Associate Professor in 1994, Professor in 2000, and Felix Pawlowski Collegiate Professor, 2009. His current research interests are related to lightweight aerostructures, with a focus on automated manufacturability, structural integrity and damage tolerance, mechanics of textile composites, stitched composites and 3D composites. He is also researching ceramic matrix "hot" structures, nano-composites, and multi-material structures. Several of his projects have been funded by numerous US government agencies and industry. In addition, he has been a consultant to several industries in various capacities, most recently with the Boeing Company in connection with the 787 Dreamliner airplane.

Dr. Waas has served and chaired several AIAA and ASME committees. He is a recipient of several best paper awards, the American Academy of Mechanics Junior Research Award (1997), The UM College of Engineering David Liddle Award for Research Excellence (2006), an AIAA Sustained Service Award (2006), and most recently, the American Society of Composites Outstanding Researcher Award (2013). He is a Fellow of AIAA, ASME, and the AAM, and a member of the American Society of Composites and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has served or is currently serving on the editorial boards of several journals, notably, as an Associate Editor of the AIAA Journal (1995-02), the Editorial Advisory Board of the AIAA Journal of Aircraft (1995-00), The ASME Journal of Applied Mechanics (2007-2013), the International Journal of Engineering Science, Composites Science and Technology journal and the journal Computers, Materials and Continua. He was the Technical Chair of the 49th AIAA SDM meeting, and the General chair of the 54th SDM meeting, 2013. At the University of Michigan, he has served as the Aerospace Department Graduate Program Chair (1998-2002), Associate Chairperson of the Department (2003-2005), The CoE Rules Committee (chair in 1998), The CoE Honors and Awards Committee (chair in 2004), the College of Engineering Executive Committee (2006-2011), and the Advisory Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics (1999-2002).

He is author or co-author of more than 210 refereed journal papers, and numerous conference papers and presentations. In March 2014, he was honored with the Stephen S. Atwood award, which is the highest honor for a faculty member in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan. In 2016 January he was the recipient of the AIAA/ASME/ASC Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Award at SciTech2016.