About Us

A&A Quick Facts

The University of Washington’s Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics offers the only aerospace degree program in the Pacific Northwest, a region whose aerospace industry has been a major contributor to the technological development, economic vitality and the security of the United States.

Undergraduate Enrollment & Achievements

Undergraduate enrollment 2014
Underrepresented minorities
BSAAE degrees awarded Spring 2014

Graduate Enrollment & Achievements

Graduate enrollment 2014
Underrepresented minorities
MSAA degrees awarded 2014-15
MAE degrees awarded 2014-15
PhD degrees awarded 2014-15
  • Multiple National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships
  • National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship
  • Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Research Fellow
  • Amelia Earhart Zonta International Fellow
  • Air Force Research Laboratory Space Scholarship
  • Department of Defense SMART Scholarship


  • 20 core tenured and tenure-track faculty and 4 research faculty
  • 7 faculty adjunct with other UW Engineering and science departments
  • 25 affiliate faculty representing industry and outside research institutions
  • 9 post-doctoral research associates

FY 2015 Annual Operating Budget

Pie Chart FY 2008 Funding: Grants & Contracts: 66% -  6.8mil, State Appropriations: 21% - $2.15mil, Gifts & Endowments: 7% -  $679K, Commercial Testing: 6% -  $645K

Quick History

  • Boeing Wind Tunnel (now the Aerodynamics Laboratory (ADL)) built in 1917 at UW.
  • UW starts one of the first Aeronautical Engineering departments in the nation in 1929, one of seven originally established with the help of the Guggenheim Fund for the Advancement of Aeronautics.
  • Founding faculty: Fred S. Eastman,  Everett O. Eastwood, Frederick K. Kirsten, John W. Miller.
  • Kirsten Wind Tunnel built in 1936; formal testing begins in 1939 with the North American AT-6 "Texan."
  • "Astronautics" added to department name in 1961.
  • NASA grants $1.5 million in 1966 to build new Aerospace Research. Laboratory (now AERB). Building dedicated in 1970.

Download our department Fact Sheet.